About us

Westminster Presbyterian Church's is a congregation governed by the Constitution of the Presbyterian Church (USA).

Our Church Staff

Rev. George Betz, Pastor

Michael Goetjen, Director of Music Ministries

Michael Goetjen is the Director of Music Ministries at Westminster where he plays piano and organ and directs the Sanctuary Choir.  He has a BA in music from The College of William and Mary as well as an MA in musicology from Rutgers University where he is currently working on a Ph.D. in musicology. He teaches as a Part-Time Lecturer in the Music Department at Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers.  Michael is also a harpsichordist who has performed with the Rutgers Baroque Players.

Riddhi Sukhathankar, Church Administrator

Riddhi Sukhathankar is the Church Administrator at Westminster Presbyterian Church. She has a Masters degree in International Business, with a Research & Dissertation in Risk Management, from London South Bank University, UK, after spending a semester at FH Mainz, Germany. She is fluent in spoken and written German. She has also been involved in volunteer work,  as a part of  an organization in New York City, helping  people file their Income Taxes. A local resident of Berkeley Heights, Riddhi loves to run, read & travel.

Shanotte Smith, Youth Director

Shanotte Smith is Youth Director here at Westminster Presbyterian Church. She teaches the Sunday School lesson, which takes place during service, to children of all ages.  Throughout the year, she leads youth events such as the Easter Egg Hunt, church picnic activities, and Hanging of the Greens.

 When she is not here at Westminster Presbyterian Church, she stays busy as the owner / operator of a nanny company and the head of the Outreach Ministry at her hometown church, giving back to her community in any way she can.

Lucia Hassen, Westminster Nursery School Director

Our Church Leadership

The Session is responsible to guide and govern the life of the congregation. The session leads the congregation in fulfilling its responsibilities for the service of all people, for the up-building of the whole church, and for the glory of God.

Rev. George Betz, Moderator

Eugene Daniel, Clerk of Session

Jack Clayton

Larry Cunningham

Bill Ficken

Maggie Gonzales

Peter Boyd

Ernie Moore

The Deacons

The ministry of the deacons as set forth in scripture is one of compassion, witness and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust structures or policies, or anyone in distress.

Carol Cunningham, Moderator

Betty Brauss, Co-Moderator

Lucille Conklin

Vivi Ficken

Betty Brauss

Maritza Russen

Werner Witschi

Belkys Consoli

Jean Brugmans


Our church handles its corporate business and faith ministries through these committees:

Outreach & Family Ministry Committee

Administration Committee

Physical Plant Committee

Financial Review Committee

Worship Committee

John Samsell Memorial Fund Committee

Westminster Nursery School Board

Media & Technology Committee

Westminster Presbyterian Church

God's Light at the Crossroads